



Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik (4510)

Leiter: Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn. Wolfgang Bösch, MBA



Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn. Reinhard Teschl Inffeldgasse 12/I 8010 Graz, Austria

Tel.: +43 316 873-7431 Fax: +43 (0)316 873-3302

reinhard.teschl@tugraz.at http://www.ihf.tugraz.at

Graz, 4. Juni 2024

DVR: 008 1833 UID: ATU 574 77 929

Einladung des Instituts für Hochfrequenztechnik:

Gastvortrag des Herrn Prof. Petrie Meyer

Stellenbosch University, South Africa

<u>Titel:</u> Microwave Filter Research at Stellenbosch University

Wann: Montag, 10.06.2024 um 14:00 Uhr

Wo: Seminarraum HF01092, 4510 IHF, Inffeldgasse 12/1. OG, 8010 Graz

Abstract:

Stellenbosch University in South Africa has a long history of microwave filter design for frequency ranges from HF to W-band. This presentation will give an overview of the work, and also focus on new designs, including work on 100GHz designs, and low-frequency stopband filter designs. Attention will be given to yield analysis and design for yield. A short overview of other high-frequency activities in the Stellenbosch group will also be included.

Short Biography: P Meyer



Petrie Meyer is a Distinguished Professor in Electromagnetics and Microwaves at Stellenbosch University in South Africa. He received his PhD in 1995 from the University of Stellenbosch, on numerical analysis of microstrip circuits using the Method-of-Lines, and his DEng in 2019. He is currently the Acting Dean of the Faculty of Engineering at Stellenbosch University.

He has worked actively in the fields of passive network design, optimization, and surrogate modelling, and has authored or co-authored more than 100 technical journal and conference papers. Since 2010 he has been involved in the design of microwave filters and antenna elements for the Square Kilometre Array (SKA) radio astronomy antenna, and the South-African precursor telescope, MEERKAT. He has served as chairman for the local IEEE AP/MTT conferences since 2005 and as technical chair for the 1999 IEEE Africon conference, as well as chairman of the IEEE South Africa Section during 1996-1997. He serves as regular reviewer for IEEE, IET and Wiley microwave journals. In 2009, he was elected Fellow of the South African Institute for Engineers.